Jonny_98

Prominent
Jul 9, 2017
So I recently bought some upgrades for my PC. My specs are

• i7 7700K
    GTX 970
    Ballistix Sport DDR4 (2x4GB Sticks)
    ASUS Prime Z270-P

I am using the Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo as a CPU cooler at the minute and I am not trying to overclock high or at all I am just looking for a stable PC. On default bios settings my games started to crash so I used AIDA64 Stress test. I checked "Stress CPU" "Stress FPU" "Stress Cache" and I got the Warning: Hardware failure detected! Test stopped after four seconds. If I uncheck the cache box then I do not get the error. I tried to disable turbo in the bios settings and there was no change. I am not really experienced in any of this and if someone could shine some light on how to fix this it would be greatly appreciated!

I googled the error online and most people said that it means that the CPU isn't getting enough voltage but honestly I don't know which setting in the voltages section to increase or by how much.

EDIT: Stressing cache by itself causes an instant hardware failure error.

Latest EDIT: So its clear to me that the defaults are not working, after looking around I checked for some bios settings. I turned on the XMP profile and put the core clock to 4.5GHZ and am using an adaptive voltage. The system seems to be alot more stable as its not instantly throwing an error and I will see how it goes. If it throws an error later through out the test does that mean it needs more voltage? Ill update with pictures.
gPlQHC4.png

Solution
optimized defaults can lead to unstable systems, because it´s basic overclocking with some motherboards. Reset the BIOS by jumper

load "normal" defaults

update BIOS with ez flash inside bios itself

run intel processor diagnostics

temperature?

any bent pins on the cpu socket of the motherboard?

Jonny_98

Prominent
Jul 9, 2017